Digital Shortcuts: 4 New To Me Apps

Computers don’t always make things easier, but there some apps are definitely life savers! I just recently discovered these four apps, and each one of them had me saying, “Why didn’t I know about this sooner!?”

Sortd – Smart Skin for Gmail

Before Sortd, my inbox looked like a mess. Flags and colored folders and stars didn’t help me get things done. Then I found Sortd. You can create lists that sit side by side, add tasks to those lists, drag and drop – I’m tellin you, this is the way email is supposed to structured. I’ve been using this for only a week, and it’s already made me more productive! Right now it’s still in the beta stage, but you can comment or message me directly for an invite code. I only have 10 codes left!Screen-Shot-2015-05-18-at-6.11.51-PM

Pushbullet – Connecting devices (even SMS!)

frontImage

Nothing is more frustrating than getting settled in one room only to hear my phone chime in another. With the help of Pushbullet, my laptop, phone, and tablet now sync my text messages! Alerts will pop up with the sender’s information and the message, and I can then respond to that message from any device. I’m telling you, it’s amazing! Pushbullet supports all browsers and once installed, the site will walk you through sending and receiving messages, and sending links and notifications.

VSCO – Instagram Alternative

I can’t even remember how I found VSCO, but it is amazing. Not only is this app capable of adjusting the lighting in your pictures, but the editing tools are smooth. Select the image size you like, apply a filter, even set skin tone – everything you need to take professional looking photos is right at your fingertips. I still upload to Instagram, but I now take all my photos through VSCO.

IF by IFTTT  – Recipe for Success

When I talk about coding at the library, I normally tell kids that it involves a lot of if then statements. That is what IF is. You can create or add pre-made “recipes” on your device that connect different apps. For example, I have several space related recipes, like “Tweet NASA’s picture of the day,” and some productivity recipes like, “Share your Instagram pics as native Twitter photos.” These are automatic connections that your phone will now do on its own. It even will alert you when one of the recipes occurs.


What is your favorite app? I think IF is quickly becoming my favorite!

Have some suggestions? Leave a comment or let me know on social media!

signature

Leave a Reply

