Easy Peasy Embroidery: Coloring Sheets Turned Patterns

Embroidery is easily one of my favorite things to do. It’s relaxing as heck, and adds personality to everything! Anyone who knows me can attest to my knack for embroidering dresses, shirts, bags…

It’s the first time I’ve used my paint pens on canvas, but I love the mix of embroidery floss and paint!

I’ve been asked multiple times about my tote bags, and after finishing the front of my newest tote (thank you, Penguin Random House), I’ve decided to share how I create them! If you’re interested in ordering a custom tote, I’ve decided to sell a few of my designs; let me know in the comments below!

Now, on to the tutorial!

My directions are super simple, but don’t worry, I’ve got pictures below.

Pinterest can be a great source of coloring pages, just in case you aren’t already addicted to it like I am! If you’re a beginner embroiderer, be on the lookout for something with a simple, loose design. You can find great samples on my Embroidery Pattern board!

When you have found your design and are sure it will fit your desired area, print that sucker out! Or, you can always trace it like I do onto notebook paper. Cut your design out, but leave about a quarter to a half an inch allowance. Cutting too closely to your design would make it pretty darn hard to pin your pattern onto your object.

Once you have your design pinned, get to it! Urban Threads has some detailed information on different embroidery stitches. I’d also head over to Sublime Stitching for more specific tutorials. I generally stick with the chain stitch; it’s easy, versatile, and strong! After embroidering your design, regular printing paper or notebook paper should peel away in segments, as pictured in the bottom right picture.


And that’s it, that’s my big secret to the eye catching bags I create! Remember, custom orders are now a thing, just leave a comment or private message me with your information!

Have a happy and creative week!

signature

4 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Embroidery: Coloring Sheets Turned Patterns

Leave a Reply

