Pep Talk In a Jar

We all have one of those days where we carry our burdens around like our own personal rain cloud. And that cloud only makes it easier to beat ourselves up. I had one of those days yesterday. Husband and  I found out our apartment building is being demolished in less than a month. In a small college town, finding a place to call home can be frighteningly difficult.

cookie-jar-clip-art-free-clipart-imagesPull yourself out of this funk! Make yourself smile. Dance in your socks. There are tons of ways to change your mood by yourself!

Like, for instance, creating a Happy Jar.
Years ago, I worked at a high school library. I talked to more and more kids who were carrying so much stress around with them, it felt like they never got a break. I know what that feels like all too well! So, I started a Happy Jar that sat on my desk. At first, it was just my encouraging words, but when I left almost 5 years later, the kids were encouraging each other with tips like, “Listen to your favorite song and dance!”

You decide what goes in your “jar.” I have found that watching cute cat videos on YouTube can help me reset. Whatever you like to do, put that in your jar! Find some quotes that speak to you and carry those in your bag.

Pull yourself up, gorgeous, and dust yourself off. Today is another day!

Need help starting your jar? No problem! I’ve got ideas after the jump!

Kid President – ever heard of him? Robby Novak is the face behind one of the most positive channels on YouTube. You’ll probably want to add several of the KP videos to your jar!

BuzzFeed can always be a great source of happy things. I really like these encouraging phone backgrounds. Now, your phone isn’t just a distraction, but a happy distraction!

TED Talks are also great sources of inspiration. Can you believe they’ve been around since 1984? Find a list you like and save that link! Brit+Co has a great list of the top 10 most inspiring. Carolyn Porco’s talk about the Cassini spacecraft orbiting the Saturnian system never ceases to amaze me and yank me out of my own world.

The best part is that your “jar” doesn’t need to be a physical container. Maybe you create a folder in your Google Drive, or build a board on Pinterest like I did. I save quotes, Johnny Depp photos, art, fonts, cuddly cats – anything I come across that makes me go “awww” goes straight in there.

You can also take cues from science. The numbers prove that gratitude can help lighten your mood faster than anything else. But, don’t take my word for it!

What do you do when your stressed or bummed? Let me know @faythelibrarian!

Have a Happy Tuesday!

signature

Leave a Reply

