Mood Boards: Why I’m Making Them Every Week

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Have you ever thought, “How am I going to get through this week?” That’s me. Right now. My month holds thirteen school visits; six of those presentations fall in this first week of May. Doing this during a fibro flare is going to be challenging. And looking for an apartment before the end of the month…

I’m focusing on the positive things this week by building a mood board – this is my first micro resolution I’m tackling! I love making these, because there’s literally no right or wrong way to design one!

“Optimism is the most important human trait, because it allows us to evolve our ideas, to improve our situation, and to hope for a better tomorrow.” ~ Seth Godin

Why Mood Boards?

In my previous post, I mentioned visualization and how positive images can scientifically impact your attitude. Constructing boards around feelings or emotions using textures, images, colors, etc. can help you focus on what you want to accomplish this week, this month, this year! Boards can be used to sell branding, furnish rooms, present advertisement campaigns – there are literally dozens of ways mood boards can set the tone for a project.

A picture can really be worth a thousand words. Sometimes, it’s easier to find inspiration through color palettes and stock photos. Those images and hues can communicate a place you’d like to be right now – like a Parisian cafe- or a specific headspace you can call up while stuck in your cubicle.

weekone
My weekly inspiration – coral, floral, and bright!

 

How-To Your Way

Lauren Schroer has one of the best tutorials for creating your first mood board. Shutterstock also has tips to help you master boards. But, there’s not one perfect and correct way to build. This process is all about finding your inspiration! If you want to arrange all of your materials physically with magazines and photos, do it! If digital boards are more your thing, store your boards on Pinterest! Do what makes the most sense to you!

New Routine? You Bet!

My newest board inspired me to create a new Pandora playlist that hopefully will get me through this hectic week! This is proof, though, that Feel like making a board yet? Tag me or share them on Pinterest!

Happy May, everyone!

signature

Leave a Reply

