My 5 Favorite Monthly Challenges

When you think about it, you can really accomplish a lot in thirty days. That’s why I love a good monthly challenge. They can be great sources of inspiration; with many hobbies, challenges can also be a way to break out of your comfort zone.

But, how do you find the right challenge for you? I freely admit that if my curiosity is peaked, I’ll watch the conversation and submissions on Twitter and Instagram before committing. And even then, there’s no magic rule that you have to participate every day. Create your own challenge by mixing different themes!

Since we’re still in the first week of May, it’s not too late to hop on one of my five favorite challenges!

collage

#DNDChallenge

Dawn Nicole Designs hosts one of my favorite challenges. Prompts on odd days are for doodles, even days for lettering. Having someone given me prompts for lettering practice is so much easier than me trying to hunt every day for something. And who doesn’t want to be a better doodler?! But, what I love the most is the encouraging and positive community built up around the challenge. My submission for today’s prompt is pictured above on the right.

“Just like I say every month, this challenge is NOT about perfection. It’s about practicing and having fun!…Just be sure to take what inspires you and really turn it into your own style.” – Dawn Nicole Designs

 

#ListersGottaList

Cori, the awesome woman behind The Reset Girl, has set up my second favorite challenge all about lists. That’s right, lists! A .pdf file is available for download every month with Cori’s prompts. Where ever she gets her ideas, I want to be there! The lists are a fantastic way to both begin and end a day. They get me thinking creatively (how do I want to display my list, what colors does this prompt make me think of, etc.), but also are a fantastic way to shut down in the evenings. Today’s list is all about carnivals, so I’ve got funnel cakes on the brain!

 

#RockYourHandwriting

So many letterers and font artists say that learning the craft can be difficult, because the popular styles aren’t necessarily the natural way we write anymore (feathered quills aren’t as widely used these days…). Kara over at BohoBerry has such creative prompts; this month, I’m really looking forward to…well, way too many to list! I’ve not actually participated in this challenge until today! Look out for some more lettering on my Instagram feed later today!

With over 21,000 shares on Instagram to date, I think it’s safe to say that the #RockYourHandwriting Challenge has grown beyond our wildest dreams! Who knew that so many of you were itching to improve your handwriting so badly?

#PhotoADay 

First, let’s just all spend a quiet moment in awe of Chantelle’s website, Fat Mum Slim. Can you say color heaven? Okay, back to “business.” There are probably more photo a day challenges on the web than any other theme. Not only does Chantelle have her own challenge hashtag (#FMSphotoaday), but each day also has it’s own. This challenge can really change the way you see the world. Rather than looking at a boring, cloudy day, I’ve found myself thinking of each prompt like a scavenger hunt. That photo is out there, waiting to be taken, but I just have to find it first. It’s a great way to pull you out of an afternoon slump, too!

Playing along is really simple! Just look at the list each day and take a photo using the prompt as inspiration. So, for example, Day 1 is BLUE, so all you have to do is take a photo of something blue. You can be as creative as you like.

#BitsAndPiecesChallenge

This challenge is one I enjoy watching almost more than participating. Amazing planner decorator, @kellybangscreative, created these prompts with a planner stylist from The Reset Girl. I love love love seeing how others answer the challenge with their beautiful planners.

It’s time for a new challenge!! I wasn’t planning on a new one, but @penpalhappyness asked me to, so I said “Do one with me!!” So we did!!! Join us-it starts today! It’s all about bits and pieces from your planner. Yippee!!!


Am I missing out on your favorite monthly challenge? Leave me a note in the comments!

It’s hump day, folks! Two more days to go!

signature

Leave a Reply

