DIY Button Jewellry for Her

Holidays can be kind of tricky. My relationship with my mother was explosive, abusive, and absolutely devastating. Our family fell apart several years ago, so I watch the flower ads and scroll past the Mother’s Day crafts with a tinge of sadness.

2016-05-07 02But, rather than dwelling on the hurtful past, I’m reminded of an amazingly strong woman that has never received enough credit: my grandmother. She has taught me so much about living and being myself. Grandma H. collected buttons, taught herself how to paint, embroider, crochet – she did it all! Arthritis makes it painful for her to be creative, so now her button collection sits on my craft table. Armed with craft wire and tacky glue, I got to work making a fast craft that allows me to take her wherever I go!
I started simple by building a necklace pendant. I’ve got Mercury on the brain, so the opalescent buttons really grabbed my attention. If the button has a post on the back, those can easily be removed with craft wire cutters. I stacked and rearranged buttoncollage2s on top of each other to find a setting I liked the best. When I was ready, I glued the buttons together with tacky glue (you could also use hot or super glue).

While the pendant dried, I cut craft wire and created a twisted loop. This will be glued to the back of your pendant to allow your creation to sit correctly on a chain.

To create the bar pendant, weave buttons together on craft wire. Be very sure to pull tightly; if there is too much space between each button, they will move around. I twisted the ends of the wire into a loop when I finished threading the last button. Now, rings can be clamped onto the loops for a 2016-05-07 01modern, DIY look. It can also hang vertically; it’s like two necklaces in one!

Husband’s schedule and my hectic job keep us from visiting my grandmother as often as I would like. This is a special reminder to all who have strong families – thank them, love them, create memories with them. Because of my grandmother’s dedication and care, I have wonderful memories from my childhood. Now, I can carry a piece of that every day.

Happy Mother’s Day to all celebrating tomorrow.Craft something with your mom and share in the comments!

signature

Leave a Reply

