How To Make Your Burnout Comeback

It’s official: I have hit critical level. Burnout will commence in five..four..three..two..

Wait…Hitting bottom isn’t always a bad thing. I admit, there are actually better ways of assessing your happiness in a career or at home than burning out. I hadn’t even realized I was at this point until last night. It’s not just that I’m tired, but exhausted. My sleep pattern is all over the place, my appetite is on a roller coaster, and I’m in full fibro flare.

Thanks for the definition, Google!

So, what now? Is this the part where I make drastic life changes, start my own business, and film TV infomercials about lowering stress levels with spinach? Stream of consciousness, here, people. No, it’s not, mainly because I don’t have the time and I need my job to pay these things we pretend adults call bills. It is, however, the point where I make a lot of small changes. The changes I’m talking about are easy, but need to be reinforced…with a planner freebie!

Make your burnout comeback after the jump!

*Disclaimer: I’m not a therapist, scientist, etc.

Half the battle is changing your attitude from glass half empty to glass half full. I’ve
always been a worrier and a pessimist, so my attitude keeps me circling this burnout. Husband reminds me that this isn’t the end of the world. Finding an inspiring author (like Elizabeth Gilbert) and  turning back to uplifting quotes throughout your day can help reorient your attitude. Add an insert in your planner, change the wallpaper on your phone – the key is to keep this quote in a place you can see all day.

“Wait, you mean I need to sleep!?” You might think you gain more hours in your day by sleeping less, but I’m here to tell you that is absolutely not the case. With less sleep, or not hitting REM sleep, your body isn’t getting enough time to recharge. Harvard has a great interactive site dedicated to why sleep is so important; I’d really recommend the interactive sleep lab, which allows you to compare different sleep patterns, and understand why stress can be so devastating. Make your own eye mask to block out light, and unplug from your devices before starting a night routine. Devices stimulate the brain, which makes it hard for your brain to start it’s wind down.

Since we’re talking about self-care, it’s also worth mentioning that what you put into your body matters. Spinach is actually a super-food, as are salmon, avocados, and blueberries, among others. I’m not saying become a gluten free vegan, but watching what you eat is incredibly important. Don’t become a victim to your schedule! Rather than sitting down to eat, I’ve started living off breakfast shakes. DON’T DO THIS. Yes, I’m yelling at you. It’s really that important. Treat your body like it’s the only one you have…oh, wait, it is! Point made.

While you’re munching on granola, make a list of people you’d like to thank. Showing gratitude can actually boost your mood faster than anything else. Soul Pancake has a phenomenal web series dedicated to breaking down what makes us happy. Those who show gratitude towards others see a high increase in their overall happiness. Watch the series and pass it on!


thumbnail_Want more ways to comeback from your burnout? I’ve created a list of 7 things you can do every single day to pull yourself out of the rut! Click here to download a special PDF I created; it’s the perfect size for you Filofax planner addicts out there! Use the bottom and the back of the sheet to write your own personal pep-talk!

What do you do to keep your outlook rosy and positive? I’d love to know your tips! Share them in the comments below, or on social media!

 
signature

Leave a Reply

