How To Create Functional Circuit Jewellry

I’m now four weeks into my school visit schedule, and I can honestly say nothing captures a 5th graders imagination more than jewellry that lights up. Or the fact that I made it myself. Yup, me and my college degrees made something technical that works. Curious how I did it? Follow my easy-peasy tutorial!
postheader

What you need: a base for the pendant (something to build on), simple hobby wire, an LED (light emitting diode), a 3 volt coin cell battery, and a hot glue gun.

First, you need a base for your circuit. I snapped an old circuit board into pieces and filed down the edges. This corner piece has a perfectly sized opening on the edge for the LED light. Notice that the LED has one prong that is longer than the other; that’s you’re positive side.

firststep
I might be addicted…
firststeptwo
Circuit boards are perfect!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Batteries also have positive and negative sides. On a coin cell battery, normally the smooth side is positive (don’t worry it’s labelled). Now, you need to make sure that you have your like charges matched. The negative side of light needs to make contact with the negative side of the battery. I put a dab of hot glue on the very end of the LED’s negative side, just to hold it in place.

secondstep

With the negative side of the LED secure, fiddle around to find the best fit for the battery. Carefully place dabs of hot glue around the edge of the battery. Don’t place the glue beneath or on top of the battery, or the circuit will not conduct correctly. Once the glue is cool, bend the LED’s positive side down to the battery.

If you have a battery holder equipped with a power switch, awesome! But, I’m betting you don’t. Neither did I. Rather than having the circuit constantly powered, I chose to not secure the positive leg of LED. All I have to do is simply press the side to the battery to connect the circuit. Its lit only when I want it to be. It also doesn’t drain the battery as quickly. The very last step is twisting a piece of hobby wire into a loop for a chain and securing it to the back of your piece. Make sure that this wire does not interfere with your circuit.

final.png

text

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What’d I tell ya!? Easy peasy. Like I tell the kids, if I can do this, you can do this.

Is there a better, neater way I can make this? I’m always open to new ideas and suggestions!

Have a Happy, Creative Monday!

signature

Leave a Reply

