5 Ways To Decorate With Embroidery Hoops + Tutorial

Packing up and moving to a new home is something I want to never ever do again. I’m so sore I can barely lift my coffee cup, and I swear the boxes are spawning in my living room. But, I’ve decided that this whole experience is actually a blessing in disguise; when you look at something and weigh the pain of moving it versus throwing it in the Goodwill pile, you are forced to stop and consider whether you really need to keep that particular thing.

Like my poor embroidery hoops. At one point, I’m sure it made total sense for me to have ten different sizes. But, now they just sit in my oh-so-perfect craft room (that is oh-so-far from being finished) taking up space. The hoarder in me can’t get rid of them, so I’ve found five decorative uses for embroidery hoops. Also, look for the tutorial to create your own book page filled hoop after the cut!

collage
My embroidery hoops are gorgeous and functional now!

Use embroidery hoops to:

  1. Showcase a neat banner or bunting,
  2. Put your painting tools to use on fabric, and pop it in the hoop!
  3. Use the inner and outer hoop rings to create orbs,
  4. Hang strips of fabric, paper, or objects from the hoop to create a mobile,
  5. And when all else fails, use them as wreath bases!

Click the “Read More” link to find my book page hoop tutorial!

collage2
So easy and eye catching!

First, I started taping pages together that would eventually form a ring around the frame of the hoop. Like building a puzzle, it’s much easier to work from the outside in. It also might be a good idea to periodically place your inner ring on top of the taped pages; this will help you gauge if you need more pages in certain spots. When you’ve got the outline of an oval complete, you can start filling the center.

Once you have your pages glued or taped together in an oval shape, place the inner ring of your hoop behind the pages. Now, carefully tape your edge pages to the ring. I did this simply to make it easier to fit the rings together. And don’t worry about the tape job; the tape will be hidden when the outside hoop ring is placed over top.

When your pages are secured to the inner ring, carefully place the outer embroidery hoop on top of the inner ring. I used pages that were literally falling out of an old copy of Wuthering Heights, so my pages tore pretty easily. I recommend opening the outer ring as wide as you can and slowing adjusting inwards.


Embroidery hoops are great, aren’t they? I even created a pocket out of brown grocery sack paper, so now one of my formerly useless hoops holds my most current inspiration! If you have any questions about how I made any of the items pictured, don’t hesitate to holler at me here or on Twitter @FaytheLibrarian!

Here’s to hoping none of our storms today are too severe ~

signature

2 thoughts on “5 Ways To Decorate With Embroidery Hoops + Tutorial

Leave a Reply

