Sewing Your Own Catnip Toys

Okay, I promise this is the last time you’ll hear about the dreaded move- promise!

The one thing that worried me the most about moving is how our four-legged babies would cope. My cats -Frank and Gorgeous- are my best friends, so the fact that our boy now wonders the apartment yowling has me a bit concerned. To help them settle in, I hand sewed some fast and super easy mice-shaped (sort of) catnip toys!

gorgeous_one

You’ll need:

  • fabric
  • catnip, which can be found in most pet store shops
  • thread
  • sewing needles
  • embroidery thread
  • scissors
  • poly fil or fabric scraps for stuffing

You can either find a template online, or quickly sketch out the rough shape of a mouse, fish, or whatever your cat really loves (like Cheez-Its…he is very demanding persuasive). Next, fold your fabric in half; trace your shape on the fold of the fabric. This means you’ll only have to sew one seam instead of two. Cut your shape out of the fabric, and pin shut. With your sewing needle and thread, start sewing a seam around the outside of the shape as pictured in the center photo below. Leave an opening at the end; once sewn, you’ll turn your shape right side out so your sewing is on the inside of the toy.

collage1
Cut, sew, and turn your shape right side out and start stuffing!

Now, start stuffing either poly fil or fabric scraps (which I use) into the toy. I layer the catnip in between layers of filling. When you’ve got a relatively plump mouse (or fish or whatever), you can choose to add a tail. I do, just because Frank loves to chew on the tails of his toy mice. Pin the tail into the opening and begin sewing the toy closed. I do this with embroidery thread using a ladder stitch. I do this all the way around the mouse to help strengthen the seam. When you’ve reached the other side of the toy, simply knot twice and sew the tail of your thread back through the mouse. This is a quilting tip I use in sewing toys to help anchor the knot.

collage2
And voila! You’ve now got one very happy cat!

I definitely think that this will help my feline babies feel more at home in our new apartment. Gorgeous has already slobbered over one, and Frank has hidden the other so they must like them! Even if you don’t own cats, these are great sewing projects for beginners and I have contacted my local animal shelter about donating handmade items. Contact your local humane society and throw a crafting for a cause party!

As always, if you have questions about making your own don’t hesitate to ask!

gorgeous_two

signature

Leave a Reply

