Adding Physical Objects Into Your Moodboard

Anyone who makes moodboards eventually runs into the idea of adding physical, real-world objects into their digital board. I’m here to tell you that it’s totally doable and very easy. Most tutorials require the use of a scanner, but mine is somewhere in a box…so, I tested a scanner app versus taking a simple photo with my smartphone. It’s always a good idea to start small, so for this run through we’re going to add bold handwritten text onto our board like the word “RUN” on my snazzy new board. I have really been dreaming in bright, big colors, and space never ceases to fulfill my wanderlust!

Untitled

moodboard_thecc_letters

Follow me to find out how to put your very own text into your digital art!

Learning how to incorporate physical things in your digital creations is a fantastic skill to learn; not only will you start adding another dimension to your moodboards, but you could also handwrite your own website banner, instagram art, or personalize stock photos. I’m currently creating a simple craft list for spoonies; I’d love to add my writing to the desktop scene, and this is how it’s done:

Step One – Write! Choose a white paper and a dark color of marker or paint. I bumped up the brightness and contrast of the image, which will make it easier to work with later on. I simply took a photo with my LG smartphone and uploaded it to my Google Drive. For the best results, make sure your device is set to capture at the largest resolution.

Notice my shaky handwriting :/

Step Two- I highly recommend using Paint.Net‘s awesome program. Yeah, Photoshop is awesome, but this is a fantastic free alternative. Open your background photo or moodboard and add a layer. This new layer is where you’ll put your text.

Step Three – Copy and paste your text image onto your base. Changing the layers properties allows you to blend the layers together. In the drop down “Mode” menu, I selected “Multiply,” but a different mode might suit different backgrounds.

Step Four – Marvel at your thing of beauty! I cut my two words apart and placed them in separate layers. That allowed me to find the best placement for my text. You can still clearly tell part of my text was written by hand, which I think adds depth to my overall photo. Play around with colors, modes, and adding slim shapes – you’re empowered now, so go make some great graphics!

tada_thecc.png
Look for my full post later this week!

As always, if you have questions, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment or shout at me on social media @FaytheLibrarian!

Happy Memorial weekend to my fellow Americans! Let’s have a great Sunday!

signature

One thought on “Adding Physical Objects Into Your Moodboard

Leave a Reply

