How I Made A Wreath In 30 Minutes

Yesterday marked one of the happiest days of my life; being given the chance to marry my best friend is something I am thankful for everyday. Yes, I tell people I’m married to a five year old, but he is genuinely the best part of my life.

And to celebrate, I made a wreath in under 30 minutes with bad words on it. I caution you now, if you are not partial to cursing, don’t read any further. Swearing in our household is a given, and I really think Husband elevates it to an art. I thank the United States Navy for teaching him that.

thechroniccreative_swearwreath.png

One thing I’ve always envied is Husband’s carefree nature. He once told me he saw no point in worrying; surviving a war zone has given him not necessarily a rosy outlook, but he sees no point in stressing over what tomorrow might bring. Whereas I, on the other hand, am in a constant state of worried panic. I did, however, find myself giving his advice to one of my coworkers, so perhaps his unclouded view is slowly rubbing off.

Even if I remain a worrier for the rest of my life, Husband has at least taught me how to swear like a fucking champ.

Read on for the full wreath tutorial!

I posted recently about different ways to decorate with embroidery hoops – you can read it here. Using them as wreath bases is such a fast and simple way to start a wreath. Sure, I’ve got forms, but setting this up literally took me about five minutes. The blue knit fabric I used came from an unsaveable shirt of Husbands, which just adds to the meaning behind the wreath.

The lettering is cut from small wallpaper samples. I was saving them for the perfect craft since they were so small! Plus, the different textures between samples and fabric just works so well together. I didn’t want to wait for something to dry (Husband can tell you, I’m very impatient), so I sewed only the very left side of each letter to the blue striped piece of paper. Once I had my main design finished, I thought about how to quickly secure it. Glues are just messy, and embroidery would take too long, so I decided to sew down only certain parts of the design. Both tail ends now sport springy green thread holding them to the wreath.

thechroniccreative_swearwreath_steponetwo
Sewing only the tails was definitely the way to go! Fast solutions are the best!

For the silver lettering, I simply grabbed my brush marker and wrote out “well” and “this” on plain white paper. When I was happy with the letters, I simply cut them out and, again, sewed them down to the wreath in only a couple of places. The word “this” required less than ten stitches, which I rocked out pretty fast. If font isn’t your thing, the words could definitely be traced or printed on decorative paper.

thechroniccreative_swearwreath_stepthree

My brand new wreath – that took me less than 30 minutes to create – hangs on the back of our front door. Husband gave it his seal of approval, which marks my first creative endeavor to make him laugh. I like to think it will serve as a reminder to not take life so seriously. Of course, there’s a time for serious effort, but worrying like I do doesn’t get you anywhere. Trust me.

Here’s to many, many, many more years of swearing and living and loving with my best friend.

thechroniccreative_swearwreath_final.png

signature

2 thoughts on “How I Made A Wreath In 30 Minutes

Leave a Reply

