Join the Uppercase Postcard Swap!

I love getting happy emails (as opposed to an angry work email) and I opened a really great one yesterday! Uppercase is hosting a young adult reader postcard swap! Imagine connecting with someone on the other side of the world – through the post – who is reading the same book you are. This is the perfect mix between my job as a YA Librarian and as an avid crafter. I am so excited to participate, but rather than sending weird The Wizard of Oz themed postcards (it’s Kansas, what are you gonna do?) I plan to make my very own cards.

As a YA librarian, I’m all over this swap and plan to share it with my teens!

Pinterest is every crafter’s best friend; I found five fantastic ideas for making your own postcards:

  1. Patchwork Posse’s Fabric Postcard Tutorial
  2. Infarrantly Creative Cereal Box Postcards
  3. Picklebums Postcard Template
  4. Angry Chicken Packing Tape Postcards (love this one!)
  5. DIY Mama Watercolor Postcards

Remember, though, to check with your state/country’s postal regulations regarding the size and cost of postage. I’ve also seen examples of cards with specific “do not bend” instructions. If you are hesitant or have questions, a phone call to your friendly post office is always a good idea!

Spread the word and sign up! Uppercase is looking for more participants, and the more the merrier!


On a completely separate note, my craft room is finally completely put together! I’m so happy with my bright, little room that I hardly spend any time in the living room any more! I also am sleeping so much better now that all my stuff isn’t crammed into our bedroom. It’s also made me so much more productive having space enough to spread out my craft and blogging tools. We should have done this ages ago!

collage2.jpg

Have a phenomenal Tuesday, everyone! And Happy Reading!

P.S. – If you need reading suggestions, hit me up! I’ve got tons. I’d also highly recommend reading through Mara’s YA reviews at Book Marauder if you’re looking for great titles.

For those who aren’t big readers, or if you’re searching outside of YA, head over to Revitalized Reading! Even if you’re not signing up for the swap, Danica is an absolute gem, so you should read her reviews anyway!

signature

2 thoughts on “Join the Uppercase Postcard Swap!

  1. What a cool idea! I’m filing this away for when my girls are older, but they are already devouring YA fiction!
    Thanks for sharing our DIY postcards too.

    Like

    1. It’s going to be so interesting to see what my regulars create! I love your postcard idea, and can’t wait to send happy mail!

      Like

Leave a Reply

