National Doughnut Day Garland

Sometimes, it seems that every day has a weird or wacky national day attributed to it. But, National Doughnut Day is one “holiday” that celebrates women in wartime. Personally, I can think of no better way to remember the women of World War I than to eat a doughnut…and it’s a great excuse to make a yummy looking doughnut garland!

doughnutday

Started in 1938 by The Salvation Army, National Doughnut Day started as a fundraiser to help the needy and to honor the women who served doughnuts to the soldiers during World War I.

Celebrate National Doughnut Day with your very own doughnut garland! Find my quick tutorial after the cut!

GARLAND

This is probably the easiest tutorial I’ve ever created, second only to one I am excited to share later today or tomorrow.

I made my garland out of book pages; what kind of librarian would I be if I didn’t further destroy an already torn up book? Simply draw a circle either by tracing a large object or with a compass. This will be your doughnut base. I then cut a circle the same size out of plain, white printer paper. Decorate your paper, or “icing” with as much color as you want. Crayons, markers, paint – go crazy! Then, I cut out this circle making sure to give it dips and curves. A paper punch or exactoknife can be used to remove a circle in the middle of the doughnut. Thread each one together, and boom! You now have a fast, but cute garland that took me maybe 20 minutes to make. You can use pastel paper, to give it more of a realistic look, but there’s something very liberating about tearing apart books.

Pinterest has tons of super craft ideas; I’m especially loving the doughnut pillows! Too, too cute!

I’m definitely adding some of these to my DIY board!

If you like quick crafts, keep a look out for my next post, which will have suggestions for creative things to do during a flare!

Here’s to women and doughnuts!

signature

2 thoughts on “National Doughnut Day Garland

Leave a Reply

