Collage Artists To Follow + Inspiration

When people say, “Oh, I’m not talented enough to [xywhatever],” I take it almost as a challenge to prove that everyone has a creative side to tap.Which is why today, I’m talking about collage art. No, we’re not pasting macaroni to construction paper. We’re adults. We’re going to completely tear apart some magazines, or dabble a bit in the digital realm…after I tell you all about three Instagram artists I adore!


Lara Lars

love the pastel colors she uses, and seriously, you can’t go wrong with vintage ladies and spaceships. Scrolling through her collages is trippy, transportive, and oh so addictive.

Fajar P. Domingo

Three guesses why I love Fajar’s work…florals! Fajar’s work includes perfectly placed materials and speaks volumes with it’s minimalist approach to beauty. It’s hard for me to pick a favorite piece; the vintage overlays make me feel like I’ve time traveled backwards.

QTA3

This Tokyo based genius is offering everyone a glimpse into his world. Taking a moment and really looking at his work feels like looking at creativity itself. QTA3 uses images in new and spectacular ways that I’m pretty sure no one else would think of. It definitely gets me thinking about using my materials in different ways.


So, I said that we’re going to attack magazines…which is true! There are some days that I yearn for a magazine to deconstruct. I choose things based purely upon color, texture, or if the image strikes me in some way. Or if it’s space related. Space images are always a yes.

Unfortunately, sometimes my hands can’t hold scissors or my exactoknife. That’s where computers come in! I feel like I am always plugging Paint.Net, but it is truly great for what it offers for free. I encourage anyone who’s curious to just dive in. Download it, mess around with it a bit. The best part about creating collages is the absolute unnecessary need for “skill” in the way that painting does. People who say “I’m not creative,” I challenge you to sit down and create a collage. You don’t have to know how to draw, there’s no need for typographical talent – just pick up a pair of scissors.

thechroniccreative

When I’m doing anything remotely creative, it’s a safe bet that I also have Pandora blaring in my headphones. This is currently my inspiration. Ugh, I love it so much. What’s something that inspires you to be creative? Share it in the comments! I’m going to be posting over the weekend about creating an art journal, and I will go more in depth with my paper collage process then!

signature

One thought on “Collage Artists To Follow + Inspiration

Leave a Reply

