DIY Sewn Zipper Pulls

The zipper pull on my pencil bag popped off the other day. Unfortunately, I didn’t actually realize it was missing until I got home! What better excuse is there for a quick sewing and embroidering project?!

THECHRONICCREATIVE_zipperpull.png

I’ve fallen absolutely head over heals for crystal projects, so I naturally went hunting on Pinterest and found a couple of clip art pieces I turned into patterns. You can read about my pattern process here.

 

When I sew, I’m constantly keeping my young students in our library’s sewing club in mind. So while you could easily stitch this with a machine, I chose to sew by hand to see if this project is feasible for the club. My conclusion: absolutely! It’s easy, and can be simplified down to five steps.

You’ll need:

  • fabric
  • thread or embroidery thread
  • needles
  • straight pins
  • poly fill (only if you want a puffy zipper pull)
  • scissors
  • key ring

My first step was to embroider a design onto my fabric. If embroidery isn’t your thing, you can always cut your fabric into a shape, like letters for instance. However, if you are going to have a design or image on the face of your zipper pull, I’d recommend finishing that before you start assembling.

Once my design was embroidered, I cut another piece of pink fabric and attached the two with straight pins. Notice the front of my design has been faced down. Your finished image needs to be facing away from you, which ensures that your seams will be on the inside, rather than the outside. I used embroidery floss and stitched all the way around (except for a small hole at the top which will allow you to turn your pull right side out. the design, leaving about a quarter of inch between my seam and the design.

Now, slowly turn your pull right side out through the opening you’ve left in your stitch. Mine is barely visible, but it is located at the top. Now you’ve got a pull! You can stuff it with poly fill at this time, but that is completely up to you. You’re last step is to secure a looped ribbon or a strip of fabric; this loop will attach to your key ring.

As a finishing touch, I used a slip stitch (also known as a blind stitch) all the way around my zipper pull. This just adds extra strength to your pull and helps to keep everything together. This tutorial is pretty good if you’ve never sewn a slip stitch. There’s also nothing wrong with adding a bit of metallic fabric paint to make your zipper pull sparkly!

20160614_084756_HDR
My finished crystal zipper pull! It’s so shiny!

This is definitely something my kiddos will like, especially when school starts! Who doesn’t want a decked out bookbag?! If you try this out, I’d love to see your results! Tag me on social media! Don’t forget, questions are welcome and I’ll try to help however I can!

Happy crafting, everyone!

signature

Leave a Reply

