Ephemeral Mood Boards (and Why I Love Them!)

This week, I decided to change things up a bit. First, I challenged myself to create a physical “board” using different things in my craft room. I took it a step further by not securing anything; no glue, no tape, no nothing holding the different pieces together. After taking snapshots of the board, I completely dismantled it.

thechroniccreative_ephemeral

“That’s crazy with a capital ‘C’!” Actually, it was very freeing! Knowing it was only temporary also felt like I was giving myself permission to focus in on a certain emotion or idea in the moment. But first, let’s dissect how to make intentionally temporary boards. Starting with the definition.

When you think about it, there’s quite a few artistic endeavors that are ephemeral. Everything from henna and rangoli, to science experiments and the beauty of a blooming garden can be described as ephemeral. It might seem a bit nutty to organize your inspiration and then immediately take it down, but doing this actually highlights your process rather than all the focus landing on the product.

How I Created My “Board”

I found the long painting of the very classic looking woman in a book about fashion through the ages. The softness and the colors instantly grabbed me. From there, I looked for colors and textures that would pair well. My inspiration for this, I think, is my upcoming hair appointment; I’ve dyed my hair pink, blue, purple – lots of colors, but gray is new and it signifies some kind of acceptance that I’m getting older. There’s elements in this board from 1920s era books, and the perfect quote from Coco Chanel. Connecting an idea or emotion to an image, then branching out with different colors or backgrounds, helped my board look cohesive. Nothing is holding the pieces together; each piece is still independent and can be taken out/replaced/altered.

love the idea of ephemeral boards, because:

  • you can focus on a certain feeling, idea, memory, etc.
  • you can work out why you feel a certain way about something based on the pieces you include
  • they can be fast challenges due to their temporary nature
  • the idea is portable, so you can create a board in a restaurant, on a train, at work, etc.
  • very easy to edit (obviously)

This board even inspired me to write a bit later this week about having shaved hair and what my super short cut means to me. I’m obviously pretty excited about going silver, so I’ll absolutely be posting photos this upcoming weekend!


I’m curious: what’s the most empowering thing you’ve done? Would you do it again?

To my fellow Yankees, enjoy your holiday! But, please be mindful of veterans like Husband, who wakes up thinking he’s back overseas when our neighbors shoot off fireworks right outside our door.

signature

Leave a Reply

