10 Lovely Things #3

thechroniccreative_tenlovelythings

Monday already? My energy is draining just thinking about starting another week. But, that doesn’t mean we can’t have a totally rockin’ work week. Here’s ten things I’m using to make my week lovely.

01. I am literally drooling all over this board. It’s light, bright, and perfectly built. Go ahead. Drooling is approved.

02. While you’re cleaning up your keyboard from the gorgeousness of that board, you can watch the International Space Station travel around our planet. In HD, even! There’s something very calming about watching the Earth glide through space.

03. After you have achieved perfect calm, head to the kitchen. This is my least favorite room to be in; I am a terrible cook – soup, sandwiches, hot dogs -you name it, I can probably blow it up in a microwave. Thankfully, The New York Times featured a lovely article about perfecting your grilled cheese. I’ll be saving this to show Husband…

04. Now that you’re properly fueled, I normally spend another billion hours or so thinking about my next project. For example, the next thing I want to tackle is a zipped hoodie. I’d love to upcycle it, plus it has a hole, so either way it needs fixing. So, to me, it seems to be a perfect opportunity to do something rad. But, I don’t know what that thing is. I found a great starting place over at Love Cloth.

05. I obviously cycle back to Pinterest, because it isn’t enough of a black hole. Here’s another ooey gooey color board. It makes me just want to grab everything with my hands and paint all over.

06. WAIT, YOU MEAN YOU CAN MAKE COCKTAILS WITH LA CROIX? How did I not know about this? I just finished off a glass full of my favorite sparkling water, and now the Internet tells me I can add alcohol to it. This, I think, single handedly saved summer. Here’s 9 recipes that prove La Croix is the best.

07. Maybe I should sip one of those delectable drinks while I’m reading! I’m pausing Truthwitch to read Mirror In The Sky by Aditi Khorana. Read. It. Now.

For Tara Krishnan, navigating Brierly, the academically rigorous prep school she attends on scholarship, feels overwhelming and impossible. Her junior year begins in the wake of a startling discovery: A message from an alternate Earth, light years away, is intercepted by NASA. This means that on another planet, there is another version of Tara, a Tara who could be living better, burning brighter, because of tiny differences in her choices.

08. And speaking of sci fi, I’m gonna hop up on my soap box a bit now. YA Interrobang is a great source that I use on a frequent basis. It just so happens that this week is special; a new series, Starship Ladies, has been unveiled and it’s gonna kick some ass.Women in sci fi are not taken seriously, and if we’re going to inspire the next generation of engineers and astronauts, then we need to be taking young adult science fiction a bit more seriously.

The women authors of the young adult fiction community are sneered at – for writing books for kids, for being less than worthy of writing for adults, for being simpler, darker, lighter, fluffier, boring, basic, everything and nothing all at once.

The women of speculative fiction, across the board, are beloved by their readers for existing and daring to write.

09. My head is exploding with creativity and ideas spurred by these great writers and the Juno mission. This prompts me to set up my next Pinterest board for the story rumbling around my skull.

10. The last and loveliest things about today’s list is that I’ve made the decision to leave library blogging behind. Instead, I’m going to start writing and world building and designing costumes. You know, fun things! So, if you’ve found yourself here via a past library post, ye be warned!


What’s the loveliest thing that’s getting you through your Monday? Share!

Happy Monday!

signature

Leave a Reply

