Moodboard Manifesto

If you’ve been crying, wipe your tears.

If you’ve been pent up with rage, go for a couple laps (or twelve, no one’s counting).

If you’re air conditioner is leaking into your tiny apartment living room because it, too, really is tired of this summer heat, just let it go…or help it along. By taking out the bolts and watching it fall two stories…in your imagination. True story. I hate this machine.

To say it’s been a tough week is a huge understatement. As the wife of a law enforcement officer, I speak with absolute tenderness in saying I grieve for the families of the fallen officers, and with the two shooting victims. Life is never easy, and it rarely conforms itself into the happy picture we concoct in our dreams.

But, that doesn’t mean we can’t try to make the world a little bit better than it was five minutes ago. Prepare yourselves, because this week is going to be all about knowing yourself and celebrating who you are (and also some very bright DIY projects). By understanding ourselves, I think we gain more appreciation for the amazing and awe-inspiring uniqueness in others.

Later in the week we’ll be talking personal manifestos, which I’m choosing to define as statements of self. “What I love about being me is…” or “If I could only accomplish one thing in life, it would be…” I’m working on the questions, so if you have suggestions, I’d love to hear from you! Today, though, I’m continuing my moodboard tradition – moodboard manifestos!

Think of this as a brainstorm session. Sometimes, we cannot see the good in ourselves, so try asking friends and family what they think of you, or how they would describe you. Think of your goals, your dreams, or something you’re truly passionate about. Start with the things or people you know without a doubt will end up in your manifesto. 

Here’s my board I created for this exercise:

thechroniccreative_moodboardmanifesto

There’s quite a bit bundled in this board. The bright, rebellious background nods to my secret Jem persona. Oh yea, this chick totally rocked the torn jeans and Converse look. Even though I’ve “grown up,”I can only jump off the board I’ve built, which is why I included it as the background. Stars and lightning are overlaid to hint at both my sheer wonder at the cosmos, and my sometimes okay, fine, all the time explosive temper.

The two most important people in my life are at the front of my board. My chunky, four legged baby, Frank, is my love. Not only has he been my best friend when I have felt the most alone, but he has also shown me the immense power of love. To a great degree, though, he also embodies my passion for animals. I rescued this giant when he was 6 weeks old; he was no bigger than my palm. I was told he would go blind, and would not last the day do to an illness he contracted after being abandoned in the Kansas chill of early January. But, with round the clock care (and because I was too afraid of sleeping), he pulled through. Now look at him!

The other great love of mine would be Husband. He is supportive, dependable, loyal to a fault, and tells me I’m gorgeous everyday (but sometimes I growl, because some days I want to be scary). We are best friends, and I can always count on him to make me laugh. I’m also very proud of all he’s accomplished as a U.S. Navy sailor, a Kansas National Guardsman, and currently as a law enforcement officer. Every job he has ever had has been in service of others. He is represented on the board by the vertical black line.

told you, it’s a lot for one board! But, when I sit down and write my manifesto, theme images, people, events, or tunes will be what I use to define myself and my experience. These are big patches that make up my identity.


It’s a challenge! Are you excited? I am! Use the hashtag #mymanifestoboard if you’d like to join the fun!

Make this week about celebrating your uniqueness.

Yesterday was blocked as my self-care day. I spent a great Saturday morning with my hairstylist. She has got to be one of the strongest women I’ve had the pleasure of knowing. I’m all jazzed up with my new dye, and ready to face whatever life throws at me this week (unless it’s an air conditioning  unit. We have a love/hate relationship).

Seriously, people, this is my hair! It’s like a painting!

Live peacefully, all

signature

Leave a Reply

