Go Write Your Manifesto (and Live It, Too!)

This project proved to  be a lot more difficult than I thought it would be. It’s easy to name off things we like (like, Starbucks, for instance). But it’s another thing entirely to write out your core beliefs, and the things that make up your foundation. I do recommend this project, though. Knowing what you stand for, what things you think are the most important in life, is so  important. Follow along to see my final manifesto, and grab some tips I’m using to live my manifesto every day.

thechroniccreative_gowritepng


If you’ve read my earlier posts, you’ve already brainstormed some aspects of your manifesto. Now we need to decide how to put together our manifesto. Whether you type it, handwrite it, or decorate it, is up to you. I wrote mine out and simply started each sentence with “I believe…” and kept going. Some of my own statements surprised me, and you can definitely see from my stream of consciousness style that this was written after a particularly bad flare night. But, no matter how many sentences I botched, you can still see the most important parts of my brainstorming session. Husband, my felines and animal rights, and my career all made it on my physical copy.

My manifesto also highlights sour points in my past. Family, I believe, is defined not by blood, but by choice. Forgiveness isn’t always as easy as people make it out to be. I also don’t believe in giving people a fourth, fifth, or sixth chance. My past is part of me, and owning my skeletons is just as important as naming my work ethic.

They follow me in my planner, and remind me of who I am.

Live It!

So, what do I mean by “living my manifesto?” Sometimes, it’s easy to drown your inner voice with the opinions of others. I can’t even begin to count how many times I’ve agreed to something because I feel pressured into it. For me, living my manifesto means to be myself, completely and unapologetically. My manifesto shows me exactly where my time should be spent; “own who you are,” it says to me, “and learn to say ‘no’.”

Follow through can be hard, though. My first suggestion is to prioritize what your manifesto is telling you. Just as mine urges me to say no, yours might suggest time spent with your favorite hobby, or reconnecting with an old friend. Take a good look at your schedule and fit these priorities into your day.

My second suggestion is always carry your manifesto with you. Think of this like a promise with yourself to be the true you. If you’ve written it down, you can fold it up in your wallet or punch it into your planner. Heck, you can even tie string to your finger, as long as it reminds you of the manifesto. I chose to write my manifesto onto lined paper, which I backed with pretty floral wallpaper. It’s sturdy and always accessible.

I am always evolving and falling in love with new things; adding simple statements to my manifesto is my third and final suggestion. This could be jotted down into my planner at the end of every day, saved in a small travel journal, or compiled into tweets using a specific hashtag.

I chose a lovely floral wallpaper to make my manifesto sturdy.

Other resources:

Alexandra Franzen’s 5 Ways To Write an Inspiring Manifesto

Browse through the collected manifestos over at 1,000 Manifestos

Find great tips to get you started at The Art of Manliness


What is the most powerful thing you’ve learned from your manifesto? Did anything surprise you? I’d love to hear about it; leave a comment or shout out on social media!

Here’s to you~

signature

Leave a Reply

