Decor On A Dime: DIY Mini Paper Wreath

You know how sometimes, life throws you a curve ball and then rears back to reload? Not only did our internet and cable go dark for a week (yeah, I’m still not over it), but we also had no running water at the beginning of this week! I feel like a need a vacation just from playing phone tag to get everything fixed!

All in all, getting offline was good, though. It gave me time to hole up in my craft room and create without any distraction. I love paper crafts, especially when they recycle materials that otherwise would go in the trash. My mini paper wreath is made from an old physics textbook and La Croix cardboard, perfect for those bland and boring college dorm room walls!

thechroniccreative_miniwreath

It took me a couple hours from start to finish, but I am so happy with the results. No special tools are needed; in fact, there are only a couple of things you need to create your own wreath:

  • cardboard
  • paper (the thinner the paper, the easier it will curl)
  • scissors
  • glue stick
  • pencil

Read on to see how I made it and three other mini wreath projects to try!

I used a compass to draw my wreath outline on the cardboard. Then, I drew rough petal shapes onto my textbook paper. Gently fold the bottom of the petal, but don’t crease it yet. Put a dab of glue on the bottom of the petal and bring the to edges together like shown in the far right image below.

To create the flowers, I simply made five or six petals, and folded the petal down on top of the glued bottom, like shown in the left photo below. This will make the petal stand up, which allows you to stack them together. After they are glued together, slowly curve the tops around a pencil. The leaves I only wrapped around the pencil; they are not glued in the same manner as the petals.

But, I’d really encourage you to play around with folding and glueing! I experimented with a lot of different shapes, like curls and sticks. To create both, I curled the paper with a pencil like you would curl ribbon with scissors. To attach the sticks, I glued a piece of paper over the end of the stick, like shown in the bottom right photo.

My wreath helps bring together my dashboard wall; it’s now where I’m going to place inspiration on my corkboard. The light colors and playful shapes add whim and was also a great relaxing project. Here are three other mini wreaths you might try!

1.Mini Paper Form Wreaths 2. Mini Paper Rose Wreath 3. Mini Mother’s Day Wreath

Happy Friday!

thechroniccreative_newsignature

2 thoughts on “Decor On A Dime: DIY Mini Paper Wreath

Leave a Reply

