10 Lovely Things

It’s been a while since I’ve written up a “10 Lovely Things” post, so to celebrate that fact that we’ve all made it half way through the week, here’s 10 wonderful things I’ve found on the net that make my heart happy.

NEAPOLITAN

01. If you’re like me, you probably have an overflowing collection of empty pill bottles. I keep mine and store sewing needles, paper clips, beads, and other small nick nacks. But, if you’re looking for ways to reuse your bottles, Elisabeth Kruger has 30 Genius Ways to Reuse Empty Pill Bottles over at DIY & Crafts. The list has ideas like turning those empty bottles into jewelry storage, seed containers, or cat toys (seriously going to try that one). Check it out!

02. What’s better for a spoonie than home decor made from spoons! Andy’s Selections gathered 15 DIY plastic spoon crafts that include making gorgeous flowers, wreaths, and candle holders!

03. We all know that journaling can help us work through the complexity of our illness. But, I’ve never thought of journaling my appointments. Tania Jayne at When Tania Talks broke down her system and wrote a fantastic DIY that walks you through How To Bullet Journal Doctor’s Appointments. I’m going to try this the next time I go in; it might be a good idea to include information from my Pharmacist as well!

04. One of my new favorite blogs, A New Kind of Normal, has tons of Chronic Illness Resources. Thank you, Jamee Lynne, for sharing all of your amazing resources!

05. Speaking of new blogs, everyone should rush over to Uncustomary; Mary writes super helpful posts about loving you, building your self-esteem, and 50 Ways To Practice Self-Care. She also has one of the most positive Facebook groups ever; join Uncustomary Babes!!!

06. Sometimes, having a chronic illness can be a very alienating experience. That’s why I love articles that help others understand (or come as close as they can to understanding.) For Real For Good shared a post back in April, How To Love Someone With a Chronic Illness, that has realistic information for caretakers, spouses, partners, and family. Share it far and wide!

07. I found Catherine at The Blissful Mind on Pinterest and I’m just blown away by her posts! I’d absolutely suggest you listen to a featured podcast, How Creative Spoonies Can Practice Self Care. It’s pure gold! Click over to her site and stay a while!

08. Okay, last blog promotion, I promise! Chronic Babe, aka Jenni the loveliest woman ever, created her blog for younger women living with multiple illnesses. “I am not my chronic stuff. I am a young, creative, passionate, generous, driven woman. I am a Babe. I’m here to share what I know with you, and to create a space for others to share their successes so that you can be a Babe too.” How amazing does she sound!? Run to her blog right now!

09. Humor can be lost in the mess of doctor’s visits, stereotypes, and pain. I follow Chronic Illness Funnies on Pinterest and have found myself laughing out loud at some of the memes they share! Follow if you want to laugh along with me!

10. Cathy over at Crafting Is My Therapy is sharing 31 Disability Hacks for Housework, and people let me tell you…This has changed how I look at cleaning our apartment. Tips like using wax paper on chrome fixtures are genius! According to Cathy, “Wax paper is great for reducing water marks on chrome and stainless steel taps. Water and oil (wax) don’t mix so the water will be repelled by the wax coating on the taps.” See, genius! These are awesome suggestions even for healthy people with busy schedules.


Yea, it’s not technically September yet, but I couldn’t help myself! I’m so excited about all the upcoming posts and goodies that are coming soon! Remember to click the “subscribe” button in the sidebar so you don’t miss a thing!

selfcareseptember

What’s the loveliest thing you’ve seen on the web in the past week? Share it in the comments or on social media @faythelibrarian!

thechroniccreative_newsignature

2 thoughts on “10 Lovely Things

Leave a Reply

